Active Transportation Advisory Committee

Contact Us:

Active Transportation Drafted Plan

The Town of Bluff Active Transportation Plan Committee, in partnership with Bike Utah, is proud to present The Bluff Active Transportation Map and Plan. This project started with a small technical assistance grant in the spring of 2021 through the Citizen’s Institute on Rural Design. Over the next three years, three of our active transportation members, various residents and business owners, attended monthly training held by the Housing Assistance Council.  This evolved into the creation of the Bluff Active Transportation Committee in the fall of 2022.

The map is schematic in nature and will be used to communicate Bluff’s broader vision with UDOT and other grant making bodies. The map is not mean to be used for other purposes. The proposal provides an overview of existing conditions, design guidance, funding, and implementation steps. The proposal outlines four project priorities, prioritized by the maximum improved impact on resident and visitor safety.

Active Transportation Plan – Part 1 of 5

Active Transportation Plan – Part 2 of 5

Active Transportation Plan – Part 3 of 5

Active Transportation Plan – Part 4 of 5

Active Transportation Plan – Part 5 of 5

Active Transportation Plan Map

Upcoming Meeting Dates:

Tuesday, April 30, 2024 1pm MT – Active Transportation Committee Meeting

Click here to join the meeting

Agendas and Minutes

Committee MembersDate AppointedTerm Length
Luanne HookSeptember 20222 Years
Anthony LottSeptember 20222 Years
Molly SchmidtSeptember 20222 Years
Deborah WestfallSeptember 20222 Years
Britt HornsbyJanuary 20242 Years

On August 9, 2022, the Bluff Town Council agreed to create the Safe Routes Committee, now named the “Active Transportation Advisory Committee” to explore planning grants, opportunities such as creating an active transportation plan, safe streets, and reconnecting communities. The committee serves as an advisory board to the Town Council and will formally make recommendations for Town Council vote upon.

Active Transportation Advisory Committee Bylaws

Mission: The Active Transportation Advisory Committee will lead a community driven process, creating and sustaining connectivity and active travel for safety, health and recreation.

What is an Active Transportation Plan? Active Transportation Plans, also known as Bicycle & Pedestrian Master Plans, are guiding documents adopted by different government entities. These lay the foundation for what types of walking and bicycle infrastructure will be built, where it will be built, and how it will be built. If you want your community to be a better place to walk and ride, an Active Transportation Plan is the starting point.

Design Review Committee

The Design Review Committee meets weekly on Tuesdays to discuss the renovation process at the Cooperative Cultural Center Building. The building, previously the Bluff Elementary School, was purchased jointly by the Town of Bluff and Utah Diné Bikéyah in 2021. The building requires extensive renovations. As of April 2024, the Town has obtained the following grants for renovations:

Cultural Capital Grant $79,450

USDA Grant $50,000 (specifically for fire suppression materials)

EPA Environmental Justice Government to Government Grant (EJG2G) $1,000,000

Rural Communities Opportunities Grant $445,000

DRC Meeting Minutes

April 18, 2024 (rescheduled from April 16), April 9, 2024, March 26, 2024, March 19, 2024, March 5, 2024

Planning and Zoning Commission

*Please see the Planning and Zoning Commission Home Page for Planning and Zoning business*

Dark Sky Committee

The Bluff Town Council created the Dark Sky Committee on May 9, 2023. The purpose of the committee is to write the application for the Dark Sky Community Application through DarkSky (previously known as International Dark Sky Association). The application process can take between a year to three years, and the application will be formally approved by Town Council prior to submittal.

Committee Members: Sarah Burak, Luanne Hook, Erin Nelson, Ann Leppanen

Meeting Dates / Times: TBD